Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg

Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg

Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg Details

Enroll at Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg


Education and research with a 500-year-old tradition: Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (MLU) offers a wide range of academic subjects in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and medicine. The oldest and largest university in Saxony-Anhalt was created in 1817 when the University of Wittenberg (founded in 1502) merged with Friedrichs University Halle (founded in 1694). Today the university has around 20,000 students and 340 professors.

MLU’s academic profile in the field of humanities is shaped by the core research areas “Enlightenment – Religion – Knowledge” and “Society and Culture in Motion”. The university’s core scientific research is in “Materials Science – Nanostructured Materials” and “Molecular Biosciences – Proteins and their Functions in the Control of Cellular Processes”. Agricultural sciences also play a leading role and Halle’s university bears sole responsibility in Saxony-Anhalt for developing this academic profile. The faculty of medicine focuses on epidemiology, health and nursing research and research on signal transmission.  Here nursing scientists conduct research on an equal footing with physicians. The Dorothea Erxleben Learning Centre is one of the largest teaching clinics for prospective medical professionals. In addition to its main academic focuses, the university offers a range of minor subjects, some of which are only offered in Germany at MLU.

As a member of the Central German University Alliance Halle-Jena-Leipzig,MLU cooperates closely with other universities, and with external research institutes and industries. This is visible at a local level on the Weinberg Campus, the second largest technology park in Eastern Germany. All of the university’s natural science institutes are concentrated here. They work in partnership with companies and major German research institutes, such as the Max Planck Society and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.  Halle’s university has a broad-reaching network of partner universities throughout the world.

In addition to the Weinberg Campus, MLU has three other main locations. The centrally located University Square is one of the most beautiful squares in Europe and it is a site in Halle that is steeped in tradition. Many institutes focusing on the humanities and social sciences are located on the new Steintor Campus. Educationalists and theologians teach, study and conduct research at the Francke Foundations.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties

  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Law and Economics
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Philosophy I (Social and Cultural Studies, History)
  • Faculty of Philosophy II (Ancient and Modern Languages, Communication Studies, Music)
  • Faculty of Philosophy III (Peadagogy)
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences I (Biochemistry, Biology, Pharmacy)
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences II (Physics and Chemistry)
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences III (Agriculture, Geology, Mathematics, Computer Science)


The University of Wittenberg (Universität Wittenberg) was founded in 1502 by Frederick the Wise, Elector of Saxony. Under the influence of Philipp Melanchthon, building on the works of Martin Luther, the university became a centre of the Protestant Reformation, even incorporating, at one point in time, Luther’s house in Wittenberg, the Lutherhaus, as part of the campus. Notable attendees include George Müller, Georg Joachim Rheticus and – in fiction – William Shakespeare’s Prince Hamlet and Horatio and Christopher Marlowe’s Doctor Faustus.

The University of Halle (Universität Halle) was founded in 1694 by Frederick III, Elector of Brandenburg, who became Frederick I, King in Prussia, in 1701.

In the late 17th century and early 18th century, Halle became a centre for Pietism within Prussia.
University of Halle in 1836.
In the 17th and 18th centuries the universities were centers of the German Enlightenment. Christian Wolff was an important proponent ofrationalism. He influenced many German scholars, such as Immanuel Kant. Christian Thomasius was at the same time the first philosopher in Germany to hold his lectures not in Latin, but German. He contributed to a rational programme in philosophy but also tried to establish a more common-sense point of view, which was aimed against the unquestioned superiority of aristocracy and theology.

The institutionalisation of the local language (German) as the language of instruction, the prioritisation of rationalism over religious orthodoxy, new modes of teaching, and the ceding of control over their work to the professors themselves, were among various innovations which characterised the University of Halle, and have led to its being referred to as the first “modern” university, whose liberalism was adopted by the University of Göttingen about a generation later, and subsequently by other German and then most North American universities.

The University of Wittenberg was closed in 1813 during the Napoleonic Wars. The town of Wittenberg was granted to Prussia in theCongress of Vienna in 1815, and the university was then merged with the Prussian University of Halle in 1817. It took its present name on 10 November 1933.

Do you want discuss Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg ? Any question, comments or reviews

Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg on Map


Photos: Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg official Facebook


Share this useful info with your friends

Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg reviews

Join to discuss of Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.