Technical University of Dresden

Technical University of Dresden

Technical University of Dresden Details

Enroll at Technical University of Dresden


Technical University of Dresden (TUD) is one of the largest “Technische Universitäten” in Germany and one of the leading and most dynamic universities in Germany. As a full-curriculum university with 14 faculties in five schools it offers a broad variety of 125 disciplines and covers a wide research spectrum. Its focuses of Biomedicine, Bioengineering, Materials sciences, Information technology, Microelectronics as well as Energy and Environment are considered exemplary in Germany and throughout Europe.

Since 2012 TUD is officially one of the “Universities of Excellence”. Its core elements are the “Institutional Strategy”, the Clusters of Excellence “Center for Advancing Electronics Dresden” (cfaed), “Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden (CRTD) and the Graduate School “Dresden International Graduate School for Biomedicine and Bioengineering” (DIGS-BB).

About 36.000 students are enrolled at Technical University of Dresden – more than three times as many as in 1990 (11.220 students). Internationally, the TUD has earned a good reputation, about one eighths of its students come from abroad. Today, about 5.000 scientists from 70 countries are working at the Technical University of Dresden.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Science, comprising the departments Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics and Psychology


  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science
  • Faculty of Linguistics, Literature and Cultural Studies
  • Faculty of Business and Economics


  • Faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Faculty of Computer Science
  • Faculty of Mechanical Science and Engineering


  • Faculty of Architecture
  • Faculty of Civil Engineering
  • Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  • Faculty of Transportation and Traffic Science


  • Faculty of Medicine Carl Gustav Carus


In 1828, with emerging industrialization, the “Saxon Technical School” was founded to educate skilled workers in technological subjects such as mechanics, mechanical engineeringand ship construction. In 1871, the year the German Empire was founded, the institute was renamed the Royal Saxon Polytechnic Institute (Königlich-Sächsisches Polytechnikum). At that time, subjects not connected with technology, such as history and languages, were introduced. By the end of the 19th century the institute had developed into a university covering all disciplines. In 1961 it was given its present name, the Dresden University of Technology (Technische Universität Dresden).

Upon German reunification in 1990, the university had already integrated the College of Forestry (Forstliche Hochschule), formerly theRoyal Saxony Academy of Forestry, in the nearby small town of Tharandt. This was followed by the integration of the Dresden College of Engineering (Ingenieurshochschule Dresden), the Friedrich List College of Transport (Hochschule für Verkehrswesen) the faculty of transport science, and the “Carl-Gustav Carus” Medical Academy (Medizinische Akademie or MedAk for short), the medical faculty. Some faculties were newly founded: the faculties of Information Technology (1991), Law (1991), Education (1993) and Economics(1993).

Do you want discuss Technical University of Dresden ? Any question, comments or reviews

Technical University of Dresden on Map


Photos: Technical University of Dresden official Facebook


Share this useful info with your friends

Technical University of Dresden reviews

Join to discuss of Technical University of Dresden.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.