University of Hannover

University of Hannover

University of Hannover Details

Enroll at University of Hannover


The University of Hannover, officially the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover, short Leibniz Universität Hannover, is a public university located in Hannover, Germany. Founded in 1831, it is one of the largest and oldest science and technology universities in Germany. In the 2014/15 school year it enrolled 25,688 students, of which 2,121 were from foreign countries. It has nine faculties which offer 190 full and part degree programs in 38 fields of study. The University is named after Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, the 18th century mathematician and philosopher.

Leibniz Universität Hannover is a member of TU9, an association of the nine leading Institutes of Technology in Germany. It is also a member of the Conference of European Schools for Advanced Engineering Education and Research (CESAER), a non-profit association of leading engineering universities in Europe. The university sponsors the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB), the largest science and technology library in the world.

In 1831, founded by the scholar Karl Karmarsch, the “Higher Trade School of Hannover” started with only 64 students. Today University of Hannover  are more than 25,000 students in the natural sciences and engineering, the humanities and social sciences as well as in law and economics.
In the future, too, studying, teaching and research are to be enjoyable, and therefore one of the declared goals of Leibniz Universität Hannover is to continually improve the quality of teaching and research.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


The roots of the University of Hanover begin in the Higher Vocational College/Polytechnic Institute (German: Höhere Gewerbeschule/Polytechnische Schule), founded in 1831. In 1879 the Higher Vocational School moved into the historic GuelphPalace, the Welfenschloss, which was specially converted for the purpose. Later, the Higher Vocational School became the Royal College of Technology (German: Königliche Technische Hochschule). In 1899 Kaiser Wilhelm II granted the College of Technology a status equal to that of universities and the right to confer doctorates. The College was reconstructed in 1921 with the financial support of the College Patrons’ Association. There were three faculties: Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering.

In 1968 the Faculty of Humanities and Political Science were founded and the “College of Technology” became the “Technische Hochschule” (“Technical University”). Between 1973 and 1980 the faculties of Law, Business and Economics, the formerly independent Teachers Training College were added to the University and the “Technical University” was renamed “University of Hannover.” Student numbers exceeded 30,000 for the first time in 1991. On the 175th anniversary of the institution in 2006, the “University of Hannover” was given the name “Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover.” While 64 pupils first attended the Vocational School, today the university now has around 25.700 students, more than 2.900 academics and scientists, and 160 departments and institutes.

Do you want discuss University of Hannover ? Any question, comments or reviews

University of Hannover on Map


Photos: University of Hannover official Facebook


Share this useful info with your friends

University of Hannover reviews

Join to discuss of University of Hannover.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.