Hanyang University

Hanyang University South Korea

Hanyang University Details

  • Country : South Korea
  • City : Seoul
  • Acronym : HU
  • Founded : 1939
  • Students (approx.) : 36000
  • Don't forget to discuss Hanyang University
Enroll at Hanyang University


Hanyang University opened as an aspiring engineering institute in 1939 with the founding principles: “Application of Knowledge” and “Love in Deed.” Based on this tradition of pursuing innovation and service to society, Hanyang has secured its position as one of the nation’s top ranking institutions.

From its earliest days, Hanyang has been committed to prepare graduates to be influential leaders in their communities. We take great pride in our community of alumni who have helped us earn our reputation as “the Engine of Korea.” As South Korea was rebuilding the entire nation from the ashes of war, our graduates have since been highly instrumental in laying the foundations to shape Korea to be the prosperous, modern nation it is today.

Such unparalleled transformation was the outcome of harnessing our collective knowledge and compassion as a country. I am a witness of this miraculous development that South Koreans have achieved together during my lifetime, and I am elated to see more results of the collective synergies that like-minded people around the world can achieve together.


We plan to extend the scope of our education, research, community involvement and partnerships to every corner of the world. In order to strengthen our capacity to contribute to the world, the pursuit of excellence and creative inquiry are at the heart of all that we do. So whether you are a potential student, a parent, a donor or a member of the community, I invite you to consider what contributions you can make with Hanyang. Join us in our journey to make a difference in our world.

Young Moo Lee

President of Hanyang University


Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties

  • Engineering
  • Medicine
  • Humanities
  • Social Sciences
  • Natural Sciences
  • Policy Sciences
  • Economics & Finance
  • Business
  • Education
  • Human Ecology
  • Music
  • Art and Physical Education
  • International Studies
  • Nursing
  • Industrial Convergence
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Pharmacy
  • Science & Technology
  • Languages & Cultures
  • Communication & Social Sciences
  • Business & Economics
  • Design
  • Sports & Arts
  • Graduate School
  • Urban Studies
  • International Studies
  • Global Business
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Law
  • Biomedical Science & Engineering
  • Technology & Innovation Management
  • Engineering
  • Public Policy
  • Education
  • Journalism & Mass Communication
  • International Tourism
  • Information and Clinical Nursing
  • Innovation
  • Business Management


Hanyang University was founded as Dong-A Engineering Institute on July 1, 1939 during the Japanese occupation of Korea. Dong-A Institute started with 630 students and a faculty of 13 professors and 22 instructors in Jongno-gu, Seoul. After producing its first graduates in 1941, Dong-A tried to elevate itself to college status, to no avail. In May 1941, the Institute relocated and offered education specializing in engineering and technology to 100 students who had finished secondary school. In 1943, with Korea still under Japanese occupation, the Institute was suspended from recruiting new students, which resulted in a temporary shut-down of the school on March 15, 1944, when the last 78 students graduated.

Upon the restoration of the nation’s independence in August 1945, Dong-A Institute renamed itself the Engineering Institute for National Foundation and settled at 251 Shindang-dong, Seoul. Institute founder Dr. Kim Lyun-joon foresaw the importance of industrial advancement in the reconstruction of Korea, and established Hanyang as a judicial and academic body. The board of trustees at that time included Myowook Lee, Byeongok Cho, Kwansoo Baik, Wonchul Lee, Waljoon Kim, Taeyong Choi, and Lyunjoon Kim, who had led the nation’s independence movement. In July 1948, the school was accredited as the first four-year engineering college in Korea with Kim Lyun-joon as the first Dean. Six departments were set up including Electrical, Mechanical, and Civil Engineering, Architecture, Chemical, and Mining as well as an Engineering High School and a middle school.

Although during the Korean War, many of the school’s facilities were destroyed and the professors and students were scattered, classes were continued in Busan with temporary teachers. However, even during their refuge, the College fostered numerous competent science teachers by building a training center for secondary school teachers in the technical fields. In 1953, it was authorized as a graduate school by the Ministry of Education. The building was restored in Haengdang-dong, Seongdong-gu, Seoul and it is still the current address of Hanyang University.

In February 1959, its status was raised to that of a four-year university. The following month Hanyang University formed the university foundation and Kim Lyun-joon was inaugurated as the first President. The University started with 19 departments in 3 colleges (the College of Engineering, the College of Liberal Arts and Science and the College of Politics and Economy) and 6 departments offering evening courses. As the University has expanded its size, the Colleges of Music, Physical Education and Education were newly established. By adding the College of Medicine, 46 departments of 7 colleges and 9 departments offering night courses were established.

Hanyang University Medical Center was established in 1972, and in 1979, a second campus was established at the newly built industrial city of Ansan. The newly established campus was named the “Hanyang Banwol Campus” at that time and was renamed as the “Ansan Campus” in 1987 which was used until the campus was renamed as the Education Research Industry Cluster at Ansan (ERICA), in September, 2009.

The Hanyang Student council was first formed at university and college levels in 1960. During the 1970s and 1980s when the dictatorships of Chunghee Park and Doohwan Chunwere at their peaks, the Student Union of Hanyang University engaged in student protests against political injustice.

In 1994 Hanyang University set up a masterplan for mid-term and long-term development. In 1997 departments were merged into divisions and at the same year Hanyang University established the Hanyang-Victoria International Language Institute in alliance with the University of Victoria, Canada. In 1998 the Paiknam Academic Information Center & Library was constructed. In March 2008 Hanyang University hosted the 8th Asian and Pacific University President’s Conference.

As of 2016 Hanyang University consists of 23 colleges (15 in the Seoul Campus, 8 in the ERICA Campus) and 15 Graduate schools (1 regular Graduate School, 7 Professional Graduate Schools, 13 Specialized Graduate Schools) where 35,324 students are enrolled. Hanyang University is run by 928 Staff members and 3,758 faculty members & lecturers.

Do you want discuss Hanyang University ? Any question, comments or reviews

Hanyang University on Map


Photos: Hanyang University official Facebook


Share this useful info with your friends

Hanyang University reviews

Join to discuss of Hanyang University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.